Important Common Words

Kanji Katakana Hiragana Reading Meaning
にく Niku Meat
ピッグ ぶた Buta Pig
ぎゅう/うし Gyuu/Ushi Cow
油脂 オイル ゆし Yushi Oil/Fat
脂/油 オイル あぶら Abura Fat/Oil
植物 しょくぶつ Shokubutsu Plant
動物 どうぶつ Doubutsu Animal
大豆 だいず Daizu Soy beans

Forbidden(Haram) Food Ingredients

Kanji Katakana Hiragana Reading Meaning
豚肉 ポーク ぶたにく Buta-Niku (Pooku) Pork
牛肉 ビーフ ぎゅうにく Gyuu-Niku (Beefu) Beef
鶏肉 チキン とりにく Toriniku chiken
肉エキス にくエキス Niku-ekisu Meat extract
牛肉エキス ぎゅうにくエキス Gyuu-Niku-ekisu Beef extract
鶏肉エキス チキンエキス とりにくエキス Toriniku-ekisu chicken extract
豚肉エキス ポークエキス ぶたにくエキス Pooku-ekisu Pork extract
羊肉 ラム/マトン ようにく Youniku/Ramu/Maton Lamb/Mutton
豚脂 ラード Raado Pork fat
(Lard)
牛脂 ぎゅうし Gyuushi Beef fat
(Tallow)
獣脂 じゅうし Juushi Tallow
(Animal fat)
動物油脂 どうぶつゆし Doubutsu-yushi Animal fat
動物脂 どうぶつあぶら Doubutsu-abura Animal fat
混合油脂 こんごうゆし Kongou-yushi Mixed fat
コンソメ コンソメ Konsome Consommé
(Soup)
ブイヨン ブイヨン Buiyon Bouillon
(Broth)
ゼラチン ゼラチン Zerachin Gelatin
アルコール アルコール Arukooru Alcohol
さけ Sake Sake
(Alcohol)
酒精 エタノール しゅせい Shusei Ethyl alcohol
ビール ビール Biiru Beer
味醂 みりん Mirin Sweet sake
(Mirin)
発酵調味料 はっこうちょうみりょう Hakkouchoumiryou Fermented seasoning
みりん風調味料 みりんふうちょうみりょう Mirinfuuchoumiryou Mirin substitute
ラム酒 ラムしゅ Ramu-shu Rum
ワイン ワイン Wain Wine
ブランディ ブランディ Burandi Brandy
ウイスキー ウイスキー Uisuki Whiskey

Food ingredients that are allowed (Halal)

Kanji Katakana Hiragana Reading Meaning
野菜 やさい Yasai Vegetables
果物 くだもの Kudamono Fruits
牛乳 ぎゅうにゅう Gyuu-Nyuu Milk
バター バター Bata Butter
乳脂 にゅうし Nyuu-Shi Milk fat
植物油脂 マーガリン しょくぶつゆし Shokubutsu-yushi Plant fat
植物油 オイル しょくぶつゆ Shokubutsu-Yu Vegetable oil
ショートニング ショートニング (だいず) Shootoningu
(Daizu)
Shortening
(from soy beans)
さかな Sakana Fish
海老 エビ えび Ebi Shrimp
カニ かに Kani Crab
サーモン しゃけ Shake, Saamon Salmon
ツナ(シーチキン) まぐろ Maguro / Tsuna Tuna
たまご Tamago Eggs

Doubtful Food Ingredients

Kanji Katakana/Hiragana Reading Meaning Reason of doubt
ショートニング ショートニング Shootoningu Shortening See blew.
醤油 しょうゆ Syooyu Soya Sauce Many types contain alcohol
Su Vinegar Many types contain alcohol

It is a fat that can be lard (Haram). If it is written that the source is vegetable oil, then it’s Halal.